3 min read ·
PPL reported several franchises above $10 million—not a team sale-price list
PPL reported several franchise valuations above $10 million in March 2026. Separate that claim from entry fees, league funding and realized returns.

Several Pro Padel League franchises were valued at more than $10 million during the year preceding its March 24, 2026 announcement, according to the league. That is a reported valuation threshold for several teams—not a published average for all franchises, a current expansion fee, or evidence that entire teams sold for that amount. PPL’s announcement does not identify which franchises crossed the threshold or disclose the transactions behind it. All dollar figures below are in US dollars.
The other widely reported number is $200,000, the entry fee franchises paid when the league launched in 2023. CNBC and Sportico both contrast that fee with the subsequent valuations above $10 million. The comparison shows a striking change in the price benchmark, but it does not establish an owner’s investment return. (CNBC, Sportico)
Four numbers that should not be combined
PPL’s March announcement described a league with 10 teams across the United States, Canada and Mexico. Franchise value and investment in the league itself refer to different assets.
| Reported figure | What it measures | What it does not establish |
|---|---|---|
| $200,000 in 2023 | Original franchise entry fee | Total capital an owner invested in a team |
| More than $10 million for several franchises, reported March 2026 | League-reported team valuation threshold | Every team’s value, an average, or a whole-team sale price |
| $10 million in March 2025 | Capital raised in the league’s seed round | The league’s valuation at that round |
| $15 million in March 2026 | Capital raised in the league’s Series A | A franchise purchase price or the league’s total value |
The funding amounts and franchise threshold are set out in PPL’s Series A announcement; the original entry fee is reported by CNBC.
The Series A was led by Charlotte Hornets co-chairman and governor Rick Schnall, with participation from existing investor Left Lane Capital and others. Those are investments at league level. They should not be confused with the team investors named in the same announcement.
Does the comparison mean a 50-fold return?
The arithmetic is straightforward:
$10 million ÷ $200,000 = 50.
A valuation above $10 million is therefore more than 50 times the original entry fee. But “more than 50 times the entry fee” is not the same as “owners earned a 50-fold return.”
To assess an owner’s return, account for subsequent capital contributions and operating funding—not just admission to the league. The calculation also needs the owner’s stake, any dilution, distributions and the timing of those cash flows. A paper return uses a value assigned to the remaining holding; a realized return depends on proceeds actually received. A reported franchise valuation alone does not demonstrate that an owner could sell their entire holding at that price.
The published announcement does not supply enough information to calculate those returns.
League funding does not establish league valuation
Sportico reported that CEO Mike Dorfman described the Series A valuation as 10 times the level associated with the previous seed round, while noting that financial details were not disclosed. That supports an attributed claim about valuation growth—not a precise dollar valuation reconstructed from the funding amounts. (Sportico)
In particular, a $10 million seed raise is not evidence of a $10 million seed valuation. Nor can league value simply be divided by 10 teams to produce franchise values: the league business and individual team interests are not interchangeable.
What would make the valuations easier to assess?
In July 2026, PPL announced a USA Sports partnership scheduling five championship matches on CNBC—three men’s finals and two women’s finals—described as its first national television coverage. The announcement also named sponsors including Frederique Constant, Franklin Sports, Engine and Padeltek. (Sports Video Group)
Those developments help explain the growth proposition. The announcement, however, does not disclose rights fees, sponsorship revenue or audience results from the broadcasts. Distribution is not itself proof of profitable spectator demand—a distinction explored in why padel participation growth does not prove spectator demand.
For a usable franchise valuation comparison, look for:
- Transaction terms: the team, date, stake acquired and consideration paid.
- Valuation basis: equity value or enterprise value, and whether new money entered the team or existing owners sold shares.
- Financial performance: team revenue, league distributions, operating costs and further funding requirements.
- Ownership rights: revenue-sharing arrangements, territorial rights and transfer restrictions.
Until those details are disclosed, “several franchises above $10 million, as reported in March 2026” is the useful benchmark—not a verified price for any PPL team offered for sale.